Managing Content Objects

From FIG

Jump to: navigation, search
The FIG wiki has moved to a LibGuide at http://falsc.libguides.com/FL-Islandora/Guide_home . Please update any links you maintain and link to the new location. If any information is missing from the new guide, or if you have any feedback you would like to share regarding the new FIG LibGuide, please email to help@flvc.org and let us know!
Navigation
NewFig1201.png
FL-Islandora Guides (FIG)
FL-Islandora Overview
User Interface
Permissions and users
Collection Creation and Management
Content models
Creating Content Objects
Metadata
Suppressing Objects From View
PALMM guidelines
Fl-Islandora and Mango
Site Administration
Workflow: From Spreadsheet to Islandora
Using Google Analytics with FL-Islandora
Collection Information Menu
A-I. FL-Islandora Glossary
A-II. Field Inventory

Contents

Adding, Replacing and Deleting Datastreams

Normally datastreams are added to an object at the time of ingest, and you manage them when necessary through other functions. However, occasionally you might want to add, replace or delete a datastream. For example, say a PDF object has been created and full text of the PDF was extracted by the system and stored as the FULL_TEXT datastream. The extracted text is not very good and you want to improve it. To do this you would have to

a) download the FULL_TEXT datastream and edit the text
b) delete the existing FULL_TEXT datastream
c) import the edited text as a new FULL_TEXT datastream.

These can all be done from the Datastreams screen. Navigate to the object in question and click the "Manage" tab. Click “Datastreams”.

ManagingDatastreams.png

The screen will list all datastreams for the object. To download a datastream, click the “download” link next to the name of that datastream. To delete a datastream, click the “delete” link. To upload a datastream, click “+ Add a datastream” (and be careful to know your "Datastream ID" since this is a controlled field that determines how the datastream will be used).

AddDatastream.png

Add a datastream: Provide the name of the Datastream as defined by the content model. If you are replacing a datastream named “FULL_TEXT” the name you provide here must match that exactly.

Datastream Label: This is the label that displays after the Datastream name whenever datastreams are listed. This can be anything you want but it is best to use the same label as the datastream you are replacing.

Upload Document: This allows you to find and upload the new datastream.

Click “Add Datastream”.

Migrating and Sharing Content Objects

Content objects can be moved from one collection to another (Migrate) or shared with another collection (Share). This can be done at either the object level or the collection level. To move or share objects from the collection level see the Chapter Collection Creation and Management, sections “Migrate collection members” and “Share collection members”.

Moving or sharing from the objects itself is useful if you have only one or few objects to move, or if you are already on the object for another reason, for example, reviewing its metadata. To move or share the object, click the "Manage" tab. The default Overview display gives you prompts:

"+ Migrate this object to another collection"
"+ Share this object with another collection"

MigratingAndSharingObjects.png

Click the appropriate link. You will get a screen prompting you to enter the name of the target collection.

MigrateThisItem.png

The circle at the end of the input form indicates the field will auto-complete. Enter some characters from the name of the collection you want to migrate to or share with, and matching collection names should appear. Select the correct one, and click the button “Migrate Object” or “Share Object”.

Deleting content objects

Note: see the warning about Shared Objects below.


Unitary objects

To delete a unitary content object (PDF, Large Image, Basic Image, Audio, etc.), navigate to the object to be deleted and click the "Manage" tab. Click “Properties” to get the Properties form, then click the “Delete” button. Do not set the object state to “Deleted” -- this will suppress the object from view but it will not delete the object from the repository.

Compound objects

For compound objects, deleting the compound object does not delete the child content objects that belong to it -- it simply deletes the parent object. At this time it does not remove the links from the children to the parent, so the child objects “think” they are still related.

To delete the parent and render the children independent, first detach the children from the parent. Navigate to the parent object and click the "Manage" tab. Click “Compound” to get the compound object management form.

RemoveChildCompound.png

Below the prompt to add more child objects is a block to Remove Child Objects, which lists all child objects attached to the parent. Click the checkboxes of the objects to detach, scroll to the bottom of the form, and click “Submit”.

Then go to the Properties form of the parent object and delete the parent object.

Paged Objects

To delete a book, navigate to the book to be deleted and click the "Manage" tab. Click “Properties” to get the Properties form, then click the “Delete Book” button. Do not set the object state to “Deleted” -- this will suppress the book from view but it will not delete the object from the repository.

Do not try to delete a book by going to the collection containing the book and using the "Mangage" tab, Collection, Delete members of this collection. The book parent (metadata) will be deleted but the pages will remain as orphaned objects in the repository.

Similarly, you can’t delete a book by deleting the collection containing the book. Although the user interface will tell you all non-shared objects in the collection will be deleted, for books only the book parent (metadata) will be deleted and the pages will remain as orphaned objects in the repository.

Shared objects

When an object is shared with another collection, if you want to remove the object from one collection while leaving it in the other(s), do not use use the object level "Manage" then click "Properties", then click “Delete”. That will delete the object from the repository entirely. Instead, go to the collection from which you want to remove the object and use "Manage" Collection, then click “Delete members of this collection”. That will remove the object from that collection while leaving it in the repository and any other collections it belongs to.

Workflow Management

See also Suppressing collections and content from view, which has more detail on how to suppress content and collection items from the public while leaving them visible to staff.

Inactive Queue

Note: As of 12/19/2013 the Inactive Queue function (Simple Workflow Module) has not been enabled in production. Currently an Inactive Queue is shared by all sites, so institutional sites do not have their own Inactive Queue. Setting an object's Status to "inactive" will cause the object to be visible/retrievable only from the Inactive Queue. FLVC suggests using Object Policies to suppress objects from public view and retrieval.

Operators can have roles (sets of permissions) that cause any objects ingested by that operator to be created with “Inactive” state by default. This feature exists so lower level staff like student assistants can have their work reviewed by supervisors before it displays to the public.

The “inactive queue” allows reviewers to find these suppressed (inactive) items more easily. Staff with the authority to review the inactive queue will see a link on the left-hand sidebar to “Manage inactive objects”. Clicking the link provides a view of the inactive queue.


SimpleWorkflow.png

At this time, only the title of inactive objects displays in the inactive queue. (A suggested enhancement will expand the data available). Note that both content objects and collection objects can be inactive, and both will display by title (label) in the inactive queue.

Click the title to display the object. Click “Manage” to display the Properties page for the object. The state can be changed to “Active” from the Properties page.

Personal tools